Test, Test…

Site Testing Plan.

Every website needs a site testing plan, if you didn’t test them, they probably wouldnt work properly and no one would view them!

At the end of this semester I will have a portfolio ready, and I will hopefully be able to create a website for myself and for others.

For most websites, there is a fairly long list of items that need to be tested as part of any new website development and in order to know what to test, when you tested it and whether those tests passed or failed, it is best to make a proper plan.

Start off with getting all the main sections down in a spreadsheet, divided between front end and admin or CMS if the website has one.

Then, start to break each main section down into the constituent parts that you need to test, concentrate on the important parts of the website first such as the home page, which is likely to be one of the most visited pages and the main areas of functionality, which are most likely to be the most used.

For instance, in the case of an ecommerce site, this would include individual tests for items such as adding products to the shopping basket, removing products from the shopping basket, updating the shopping basket quantities, being able to enter the checkout process and completing the checkout process (depending on your website there may be several steps to test within the checkout process).

You should be asking yourself questions for when you start testing the checkout process from the point of view of the user such as:

  • Can I complete my order?
  • Can I go back and amend my order?
  • Do I understand where I am in the checkout process?
  • Can I clearly see what I am ordering and how much it will cost, including delivery and taxes?
  • Do I get a receipt or email confirmation?

As the owner of the website there will be different questions such as:

  • Does the payment processing work correctly?
  • What happens if the incorrect card details are entered?
  • Does the order confirmation process work correctly?

A few other items that you may wish to make sure you have as part of every test plan are the following, in no particular order:

  • Ensure your HTML and CSS code validates to W3C guidelines
  • Test accessibility of the website
  • Test the SEO items that you have planned for to make sure they are in place
  • Test against the specification for the project that was signed off to ensure that everything has been completed that was agreed
  • Test against designs and/or wireframes or prototype html mockups that were completed to make sure the finished website matches the signed off designs or wireframes
  • Take into account any changes requested (should be in the form of change control documents)
  • Complete any security tests that are required

http://www.testing-web-sites.co.uk/2010/05/29/how-to-write-a-test-plan/

DIFFERENT FORMS OF TESTING

1) Functional Testing
2) Browser compatibility testing
3) Usability testing
4) Accessibility testing
5) Performance testing
6) Stress or load testing
7) Site monitoring
8) Conversion rate testing
9) Security testing
10) Spelling and Grammar checking

With My personal Portfolio that I will be building in Wix, I will be thoroughly testing my website with carriers such as Firefox, Safari, Internet Explorer for example. I will do this to test the loading process, the design layout, the make sure all links, buttons, photographs and text will display and work as I have designed them to.

Also will be testing my site on an Ipod and Iphone to make sure it looks presentable and how it should look and work like a normal website.

I will also test on old systems to make sure the loading process isnt lagging and is easy to access.

Leave a comment